General overview

Print

 
carte The Research in Computer Science (MRI) specialism is one of the 5 specialisms proposed during semesters 3 and 4 of the Master’s in Computer Science at the University of Rennes 1.

This 2nd year of the Master’s is administered by a consortium of the main computer science universities and graduate schools in Brittany
: University of Rennes 1, University of Southern Brittany (UBS), University of Western Brittany (UBO), ENS Cachan - Brittany Branch, Brest National School of Engineers (ENIB), école nationale supérieure de techniques avancées Bretagne (ENSTA Bretagne), National Institute of Applied Sciences, Rennes (INSA), Supélec and Télécom Bretagne. This consortium of institutions, with the support of renowned laboratories, offers students training at the cutting edge of computer science research.

In order to welcome foreign students, all lecture notes are in english. Moreover, common core lectures, as well as lectures from the Component-Based Embedded Software and Networks and Distributed Systems thematic tracks are taught in english in case of non french speaking audience. 

The nine thematic tracks have been validated by the Media and Networks competitiveness cluster.

For an overview, please download the MRI’s flyer.

a) Choice of one thematic track

The MRI specialism aims to provide each student with advanced knowledge in one research domain, focused but broad enough to enable them to go on to a PhD in a range of subject areas. Partners of the consortium offer specific thematic tracks corresponding to their research specialisms, which include both current research subjects and fundamental technological issues; the program is therefore firmly grounded in current public and private research. The tracks may develop over the years. Each student chooses one track when applying.

The 9 thematic tracks available are listed below, and are detailed in the Program tab of this site.

  • in Rennes
    • Component-Based Embedded Software
    • Networks and Distributed Systems
    • Information and Computing Infrastructure Security
    • From Data to Knowledge: Machine Learning, Modeling and Indexing of Multimedia Content and Symbolic Data
    • Images and Interactions
  • in Brest
    • Human-Centered Computer Science
    • Mobile and Communicating Object-Based Systems
  • in Vannes
    • Intelligent Software-Intensive Systems: Foundations, Architectures, and Applications
  • in Lannion
    • Intelligent Interaction with Information

b) Core syllabus: general knowledge in computer science

The general knowledge part represents 2 course units selected by the student from the 4 available. The aim of these course units is to give the students a broad background to the various research subjects. The courses are attended at the local site or remotely via video-conference. They are evaluated each year and may be updated every two years.

The course units of the core syllabus are: Data Analysis and Stochastic Modeling (ADM), Introduction to Distributed Computing (ASR), Mechanized Semantics (MSM) and Models and Formalizations (MF).

c) Core syllabus: methodological approach to research

The methodological part of the program comprises a bibliographic study, training in oral expression techniques which will be applied through participation in the colloquium of the specialism, a series of lectures and seminars, and work experience in a research team (internship).

  • A bibliographic study (BIBL, 6 ECTS credits), essential in any research work, is carried out on the subject of the student’s internship. This bibliographic study is evaluated by a review committee, which presents its remarks to the student on how the document can be improved. This exercise is organized like scientific article submission.
  • The colloquium of the MRI specialism (COLQ, 2 ECTS credits) gives all students the opportunity to present a scientific paper in a set amount of time. This work is organized in three stages: training in oral presentation techniques, practice sessions and the colloquium itself. The content of the presentation is based on the bibliographic study. This colloquium is open to all sections of the Matisse doctoral school.
  • The curriculum also contains a professionalization course unit (PROF), compulsory for all students. This course unit contains a series of conferences, in which various speakers give presentations on the techniques of oral or written scientific communication, on careers in public and private research, the organization of research, intellectual property and specific research fields. The course unit also contains an in-depth presentation on the writing of scientific publications.
  • The internship (24 ECTS credits) is 5 months long, usually taking place from February 1 to the end of June (except for special cases such as internships abroad). A wide range of internships are available each year in the research laboratories of the partner institutions, but the internship can also be carried out in high-tech industries, or within a research team–industry partnership. The internship is completed with a written report, reviewed by external professionals, and an oral defense of a set length before a panel.

d) Introduction to research

The introduction to research is one of the aspects of our specialism that has been particularly developed:

  • integration of the students, from the very beginning of the year (October), in a research team so that they have a working environment similar to that used by researchers as soon as possible;
  • very close supervision from their supervisor. Supervisors are in contact with students very early on through the bibliography (BIBL) and colloquium (COLQ) course units, where their role is essential. COLQ, at the end of the first semester, gives the students an opportunity to familiarize themselves with scientific presentations;
  • scientific conferences organized regularly for the students of the specialism;
  • the inclusion of an extra-scientific section in the syllabus (PROF).

The program is supported by an agreement with Inria.

Website: master.irisa.fr

Buy cheap web hosting service where fatcow web hosting review will give you advices and please read bluehost review for more hosting information.

Présentation générale

Imprimer

carteLa spécialité de master Recherche en informatique (MRI) est une des 5 spécialités proposées aux semestres 3 et 4 au sein du master d'informatique de l'université de Rennes 1.

Cette 2e année de master est co-habilitée par les principaux établissements d'enseignement supérieur en informatique de Bretagne : l'université de Rennes 1, l'université de Bretagne-sud, l'université de Bretagne occidentale, l'ENS Rennes, l'école nationale d’ingénieurs de Brest (ENIB), l'école nationale supérieure de techniques avancées Bretagne (ENSTA Bretagne), l'institut national des sciences appliquées de Rennes (INSA), Supélec et Télécom Bretagne. Cette co-habilitation d’universités et d’écoles, qui s'appuie sur des laboratoires de renom, permet de proposer aux étudiants une formation de pointe dans les domaines de recherche de l’informatique.

Dans une volonté d'ouverture de la formation à l'international, tous les supports de cours de la formation sont en langue anglaise. Les enseignements de tronc commun et des parcours Rennais Logiciels enfouis à base de composants et Réseaux et systèmes répartis sont dispensés en langue anglaise en présence d'étudiants non francophones.

Les neuf parcours thématiques de la formation sont labellisés par le pôle de compétitivité Images et Réseaux.

Pour une présentation générale, vous pouvez télécharger le dépliant du MRI.

a) Choix d'un parcours thématique

La spécialité MRI a pour objectif de donner à chaque étudiant une vision avancée d’un domaine de recherche, focalisé mais suffisamment étendu pour des poursuites en thèse sur des sujets assez divers. Elle offre des parcours spécifiques distribués dans les établissements de la co-habilitation selon leurs compétences de recherche. Les parcours attractifs retenus sont à la fois des sujets de recherche actuels et porteurs, et des problématiques technologiques fondamentales, ce qui ancre la formation dans les thématiques actuelles de la recherche publique et privée. Ils sont donc susceptibles d’évolution au cours des années. Chaque étudiant choisit un parcours dès sa candidature.

Les 9 parcours thématiques proposés sont listés ci-dessous, et détaillés dans la rubrique Programme de ce site.

  • à Rennes
    • Logiciels enfouis à base de composants
    • Réseaux et systèmes répartis
    • Sécurité des contenus et des infrastructures informatiques
    • Des données aux connaissances : apprentissage, modélisation et indexation des contenus multimédias et des données symboliques
    • Images et interactions
  • à Brest
    • Systèmes informatiques centrés sur l'humain
    • Systèmes et objets communicants mobiles
  • à Vannes
    • Systèmes intelligents à logiciel prépondérant: fondements, architectures et applications
  • à Lannion
    • Interaction intelligente sur l'information

b) Tronc commun : culture générale en informatique

Les 2 UE de tronc commun choisies par l'étudiant parmi les 4 proposées ont pour objectif de donner aux étudiants une culture transversale aux divers sujets de recherche. Ces cours sont dispensés par visio-conférence sur les sites distants. Ils sont évalués tous les ans et peuvent être renouvelés tous les deux ans.

Les modules de cours de tronc commun sont : Analyse des données et modélisations stochastiques (ADM), Introduction à l’algorithmique des applications et des systèmes répartis (ASR), Mechanized semantics (MSM) et Modèles et formalités (MF).

c) Tronc commun : approche méthodologique de la recherche

La formation méthodologique comporte une étude bibliographique, l'apprentissage de techniques d'expression orale se traduisant par la participation au colloque de la spécialité, un cycle de conférences et séminaires, et la pratique du travail dans une équipe de recherche (stage).

  • Une étude bibliographique (BIBL) indispensable à tout travail de recherche est réalisée sur le sujet du stage. L’étudiant produit et remet son étude bibliographique, qui est évaluée par un comité de lecture. Ce comité lui transmet les remarques permettant d’améliorer le document. Cet exercice est organisé comme une soumission d’articles scientifiques.
  • Le colloque de la spécialité MRI (COLQ) permet à tout étudiant de se mettre dans la situation de présenter en un temps donné une communication scientifique. Ce travail s'organise en trois phases : apprentissage des techniques de communication orale, répétitions et déroulement proprement dit du colloque. Le contenu de la présentation est fondé sur l’étude bibliographique. Ce colloque est ouvert à l’ensemble des composantes de l’école doctorale Matisse.
  • Un module de professionnalisation aux métiers de la recherche (PROF) est obligatoirement suivi par les étudiants. Ce module contient un cycle de conférences, dans lequel différents intervenants présentent des exposés sur les métiers de la recherche publique et privée, sur l'organisation de la recherche, la propriété intellectuelle, ou certains domaines de recherche ou encore des exposés sur les techniques de communication scientifique orale ou écrite. Ce module contient également un approfondissement sur la rédaction et l'évaluation d'articles scientifiques.
  • Le stage se déroule sur 5 mois, d’ordinaire du 1er février à la fin juin (sauf exceptions telles que stage à l'étranger). Il est réalisé dans une des équipes de recherche des laboratoires d’accueil de la spécialité, dans un laboratoire de recherche et développement de grandes entreprises, ou en partenariat équipe de recherche-entreprise. Il se termine par la réalisation d’un rapport écrit relu par des personnalités extérieures, et par une soutenance orale effectuée devant un jury en un temps imposé.

d) Accompagnement de l’initiation à la recherche

L'organisation de l'initiation à la recherche est un des aspects de notre spécialité de master que nous avons particulièrement développé :

  • intégration de l'étudiant, dès le début de l'année (dès octobre) dans une équipe de recherche afin qu'il dispose au plus tôt d'un environnement de travail proche de celui utilisé par les chercheurs
  • tutorat très fort de l'encadreur. En effet, l'encadreur est mis très tôt en relation avec l'étudiant à travers les exercices des modules bibliographie (BIBL) et colloque (COLQ) où son rôle est prépondérant. COLQ, organisé à la fin du premier semestre, permet aux étudiants de se familiariser avec les présentations scientifiques ;
  • conférences scientifiques régulièrement organisées à destination des étudiants de la spécialité ;
  • présence d'un volet extra-scientifique dans l'année de formation (PROF).

La formation fait l'objet d'une convention avec Inria

Site Web : http://master.irisa.fr

Buy cheap web hosting service where fatcow web hosting review will give you advices and please read bluehost review for more hosting information.